I messed up. Learn from my mistake

How to avoid Sales Resistance?

I messed up,

but I’m not afraid admit it.

I fumbled my first 2 sales on X, and here is my valuable lesson for you:

It was my first week on X.

I was connecting and interacting nonstop, building momentum and making new connections.

Suddenly, out of nowhere, two guys reached out via DM.

They wanted help getting their first opportunity as programmers.

I didn’t even have 100 followers, but my constant activity made me credible enough.

When someone wants your help, the connection becomes a FLAMING HOT lead.

Excited, I jumped in and started asking questions:

  • How old are you?

  • How long have you been learning to code?

  • Do you have prior experience?

  • Do you have any technical skills that could help you stand out?

Why?

Because asking questions is KEY to understanding how you can help your leads and how to make a proper offer! I had a lot of value to offer them.

Creating my e-book took more work than expected, but it was worth it to have something I was truly proud to sell.

Here's where things went wrong…

I got really excited about the opportunity.

Maybe TOO excited…

I didn’t expect such golden opportunities so early in my X career.

My mistake? I started overselling my e-book…

What is overselling?

Overselling happens when you try too hard and too fast.

When prospecting, you should learn to use pauses.

When you pause at the right time, your lead will feel the emotion you're trying to convey.

If you don’t use pauses, you create a terrible response called: SALES RESISTANCE.

Once your lead creates sales resistance, your chances to close the sale plummet.

Takeaway:

Don’t let impatience and excitement derail your efforts.

Don’t get me wrong… You should be excited when prospecting; that’s how you channel your enthusiasm - a very powerful sales attribute. But you got to remain in control.

Remember, patience is key.

Are you patient when creating content and selling what you’ve built? I’d love to hear about your experiences and strategies!

How do you plan to monetize your presence on X?

How strategic is your sales approach? Share your thoughts with me!

Let's discuss how you can fine-tune your sales tactics for maximum impact.

DM me now or reply to this email—let's turn your connections into successful sales!

Looking forward to hearing from you,

Matt Simas (@mattsimass)

P.S. Got any feedback? I would love if you could submit it to me. [Submit feedback here]